top of page
Search
  • sueweimd

How to be "Makeup Free" and still look good.

For 15 years I have gone out without makeup, except for my trusty eyeliner and the occasional lip gloss. There were some friends who asked me was it because you are too lazy to apply makeup? Or you find putting on makeup is a hassle (as I am quite an impatient person) The answer is that I have tried applying makeup for a few years and I realised my skin has changed since I started using it. I started having more acne breakouts, my skin started to turn red with small papules (small red pimples) and I continuously have whiteheads. At first, I thought maybe it was the brand and I decided to change brands. I went from MAC to Bobbi Brown to Estee Lauder and finally Chanel. Only Chanel eye shadow was fine for me to use. The rest still gave my skin side effects.


When Sephora came to Singapore 16 years ago, that's when I started exploring other non-branded and more organic brands. I realised my skin fared better with organic brands from Sephora. A quick search in the internet now did not show the brands I used to apply or use. Lol probably many years passes since I went make up free.


I only use foundation, a dash of blusher and eye shadow with eyeliner and lipstick if I need to attend someones' wedding, or an important dinner function. Otherwise, I am only sticking with my trusty eyeliner and lipgloss.


This does not mean I have no "beauty regime" for my face. I do! I believe that its hard work and alot of money spent to look good. And to be honest, it is ALWAYS an investment to make sure you look that good. I do think its more important than owning an expensive handbag. If you look good you feel good and I always feel that success and looking good cones hand in hand and gives us more confidence. I think I save money by not actively using makeup. That extra fund can be used for other things to make my face look good.


My facial regimes starts with me taking a cool shower after getting up in the morning and washing my face with a gentle facial wash and my favourite is "Soft Cleanse". I love the smell and the texture on my skin. Then I would apply the "Rose Regenerating Toner" and after that apply "Medical Hydrator Intense" and lastly and most importantly, you can't leave the house without sunscreen. All these products are from SL Aesthetic/Skinlab Medical Spa. These products are very good. I gave 2 Rose toners from SL to my girlfriends and they loved it.






















After a hard and fruitful day at work, my regime is the same as above except there is no need for sunscreen. For the moisturiser, I will switch to "Night Protect" and to help with my melasma I will also use "Luminence Max". This is one of my favourite product because I can see that it helps lighten my melasma pigments. It has TXA (Tranxanemic Acid) as one of its ingredients which is now known to help reduce melasma pigments.




So basically this is my daily regime for quite sometime. I probably added Luminence Max recently.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ready to write again...

May 31st 2020 seemed like a very long time ago but it always felt like it was yesterday for me. I have always wanted to continue my blog after the passing of my beloved father but it was difficult for

"My Hero"- My father for 41 years

bottom of page